Zaatar BLT

Last week I posted a make shift Zaatar bread over at the Phoenix New Times Chow Bella Blog called Old herbs get a life. I made a bunch of spread up and covered pita bread with it. Then I turned it into a dinner by using it as my matrix for BLTs well, minus the L. I was able to find some lovely green tomatoes at the farmers market and after I cooked up the bacon I fried the tomatoes. The tall one was so very happy with this and asked a lot of questions about the dish. It was cute to see him just want to talk about it and that twinkle in his eyes when he gets to eat fried food in his own house is so sweet.

@font-face { font-family: “Times”; }@font-face { font-family: “Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: “Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

Fried green tomato coating:

Green tomatoes (up to 4)

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

2 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

oil for frying

Leave a comment